Creating a Macro Rule

This tutorial provides step-by-step instructions that you can follow to better understand the functions of macros.

Functions used in this tutorial:

  • Create a new project
  • Add a PDF file
  • Add folder
  • Add a macro definitions file
  • Create a macro rule
  • Edit the macro rule properties
  • Delete a macro rule
  • Validate a macro rule

1. Create a new project
In this step, you will create the new project you want to use.
  1. Go to the File tab.
  2. To create a new project, select New from the Project section. To open an existing project, select Open.

The default project name generated by the system is Project 1.

2. Add a PDF file or a folder
In this step, you will insert the PDF file or folder into the project you created.
  1. Go to the File tab.
  2. Select Add PDF or Add folder to add a PDF file or a folder to the project.
  3. In the Add PDF or Add PDF folder dialog box, browse for the PDF file or folder that you want to add, and then click Open or Select Folder.

    The list of PDF files and folders is displayed into the FILES section, on the left side of the screen.FILES

3. Add a macro definitions file
In this step, you will add a macro XML definitions file to the project.
  1. Go to the File tab.
  2. Select Add Macro to add a macro file to the project.
  3. In the Add Macro dialog box, browse for the macro definitions file that you want to add, and then click Open.

    The structure of the macro definitions file is displayed into the MACROS section, on the left side of the screen.MACROS

4. Create a macro rule
In this step, you will create a macro rule.
  1. Select the content area to define a rectangular or square region.
  2. Go to the Insert tab and select Macro from the Structure category to insert macros into the project.
  3. In the Insert Macro Rule dialog box, select the macro definition from the MACROS LIST on the left side of the dialog box.
  4. Configure macro properties for the selected macro definition and click INSERT.
      Note:
    • The macro definitions list may vary depending on the information included in the macro XML file.
    Insert Macro

For more information on macro definitions, see the topic Macros.

5. Edit macro rule properties
In this step, you will adjust the properties for macros already created.
  1. Select the macro rule from the RULES section on the left side of the screen.
  2. Go to the PROPERTIES section to edit macro properties.Macro Properties

For more information on macro properties, see Editing Macro Definition Properties.

6. Validate a macro rule
In this step, you will validate the entire PDF document to check for any matched or unmatched macros.
  1. Go to the Review tab.
  2. Select Validate PDF from the Actions structure. A separate dialog box opens for validation results.

For more information on PDF validation, see Validating Macros.